My favorite childhood toy

Picture from http://www.babyeducationtoys .com/thomas-train-toys/

Picture from
http://www.babyeducationtoys
.com/thomas-train-toys/

It remember that Christmas back in 2004. I can imagine myself, my leg was in a cast, laying on the ground. I can remember waiting for what seemed like an eternity for my grandma to wake up. scooting forwards as fast as I could towards the tree, my face split with an eager grin.

Underneath the blue and red wrapping paper, were Thomas the Trains. Oh those little trains came in a wide variety of colors. Along with the trains was enough track to go around the Christmas tree twice! The trains had little magnetic part on their front and back so you could attach them together effortlessly.

The image above should show what the trains looked like. This image awakens fond memories of the trains. It also brings me to realize how different toys are today. Everything, and I mean everything, is automated.

I played with those trains till I was about seven, and I never got tired of playing with them. Over the years my collection grew till a had around seventy trains and enough track to go all the way around my house (our smaller house in California not our big one in Texas!). I also got a humongous train table. But that is for a different post.

3 thoughts on “My favorite childhood toy

  1. I had a few of those trains when I was little and I loved to play with them. I had a small train track that you could change the direction of the track and I would play with those trains for hours.

  2. I have Thomas the Train toys. I got them a long time ago, and it used to be my favorite pastime. I would sit for minutes, (which was pretty long, considering my attention span back then) arranging and rearranging the tracks.

    Now there shoved into the darkest corner of my closet, but don’t worry, they have plenty of company….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *